Why I want to work for a B-Corporation

patagonia_P6

Why companies with creative and moving social missions will be more successful??

We need more B-corporations that focus efforts on social corporate responsibility

From their mission statement alone Patagonia distinguishes itself as a very unique B-Corporation and they truly are a pioneer in their sector.

Patagonia’s Mission Statement:
Build the best product, cause no unnecessary harm, use business to inspire and implement solutions to the environmental crisis.

yvon chouuinard
Yvon working in his shop

I have taken a particular interest in the founder and owner of Patagonia, Yvon Chouinard, and his strong social mission that he has encapsulated within his organization from the ground as the leader of Patagonia. I hope to work for an organization in my near future that isn’t adversarial to nature, culture, and the economic disparity around the globe. The company to this day is labeled as a B-Corporation,and Patagonia provides environmental public benefit and value to certain issues through the profits that they generate each year.Patagonia is one of the most successful outdoor gear/clothing companies of all time with annual revenues of 600 Million USD and over 2000 employees. Yvon Chouinard is an avid climber and his first business venture was in his own equipment company named Chouinard Equipment. Yvon’s blacksmith background helped him to manufacturer chrome molybdenum steel pitons and climbing equipment. By 1970 Yvon had the most lucrative climbing hardware company in the United States even before Patagonia started releasing their clothing line.

let-my-people-go-surfing
Recommend Reading

We need more businesses that can raise food production, eliminate disease, and improve people’s lives on a global scale and keeping them employed with the proper job security. I personally want to have a career where I can create benefits for others without losing my own personal identity. I know deep down inside that I feel extremely enthusiastic about nature and I want to live a life where I am surrounded by nature and its wonder. I love the idea of encouraging more people to get out of their houses and to participate in outdoor activity. A job in the outdoor industry is a job that I could truly see myself excel at because of my drive to work in a profession that I am truly passionate about. I found it extremely enthralling that Yvon never dreamed of becoming a businessman and was simply doing this to keep climbing and be able to pay the bills. Yvon started his organization by hiring his friends that also liked to climb, it can’t get much better than starting a business with your friends doing the exact thing that makes you wanna get out of your bed every morning. Kudos to Patagonia and their sustainable supply chain that functions like an eco-system with as few suppliers and contractors as possible to be meet demand. I have a deep desire for the environment and want to contribute to aiding the environmental predicament by refraining from motorized sports and stick to human powered sports instead.

How Patagonia Gives Back:

1. One Percent For the Planet

2. World Trout Initiative

3.Footprint Chronicles

4.Common Threads Recycling Program

 

 

Leave a Reply

